Our History


Prior to 1988 lawn bowling in Alberta was divided into two separate associations. The women’s association was referred to as the Ladies Lawn Bowling Association (ALLBA) and the mens’ association was called Alberta Lawn Bowling Association (ALBA). Each association held their own general meetings and were governed by their own set of bylaws.

During 1988, meetings were held to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of forming a joint association. On October 21, 1988 the first meeting of this new association was held and an executive was elected. This executive consisted of the following members:

President John Barnes, Edmonton
Vice President-Program G.A. (Sandy) Morrice, Medicine Hat
Vice President-Program Margaret Fettes, Edmonton
Secretary Debbie Neilson, Calgary
Treasurer Jan Wojcik, Calgary
Provincial Director George Ashford, Edmonton
Past President Eleanor Hornland, Calgary
Program Coordinator Nicholas Watkins, Edmonton


To comply with a directive from the Alberta Sports Council, the province was divided into three divisions:

  • North Division: Edmonton, Lloydminster, Wainwright
  • Central Division: Calgary, Didsbury, Red Deer
  • South Division: Medicine Hat, Lethbridge

This new association was called “Lawn Bowls Association of Alberta” (LBAA) and the certificate of incorporation was signed January 20, 1989. The following clubs were members of the association:

  • Bow Valley (Calgary)
  • Lethbridge
  • Calgary Lawn
  • Lloydminster
  • Commonwealth (Edmonton),
  • Medicine Hat
  • Didsbury & District
  • Red Deer
  • Highlands (Edmonton)
  • Royal Canadian Legion (Calgary)
  • Inglewood (Calgary)
  • Wainwright

Over the years a few of the clubs have struggled to maintain membership and the clubs in Didsbury, Red Deer, and Wainwright were permanently closed.  The Royal Canadian Legion was renamed to the Rotary Park Lawn Bowling Club.

Today 7 of the original clubs are members of LBAA.  Along with them are Stanley Park LBC (Calgary), Royal LBC (Edmonton and the Edmonton Indoor LBC.